Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN bus on STM32F103: how to begin

emilio
Associate II
Posted on November 25, 2014 at 23:48

Hi everybody, 

these days I'm starting a project based on STM32F103RE uC for which I have to use the CAN bus pheripheral to transmit and receive messages.

I have no previous experience with CAN pheripheral on STM32 and I'd like some advices to start my work.

In addition at the standard pheripheral library and the reference manual

-which application note/other documents can I study?

-Are there any valid code example ready to download?

-Could someone post me some configuration example?

Thanks in advance! 

#can #can #code #example #stm32
6 REPLIES 6
Posted on November 26, 2014 at 01:34

Review the EVAL board schematics, and the software examples.

STM32F10x_StdPeriph_Lib_V3.5.0\Project\STM32F10x_StdPeriph_Examples\CAN\DualCAN\main.c

Get yourself a board with CAN interfaces, preferably two.

You need a receiving device to acknowledge data being sent.
Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
emilio
Associate II
Posted on November 30, 2014 at 23:36

Thanks for answering me.

I think I'll use two STM32 Nucleo boards in order to implement a CAN transmitter and a CAN receiver.

The example seems very useful, I'll post here later if I have any dubt! 🙂

dteal
Associate II
Posted on February 08, 2015 at 21:40

Clive1,

I too am new to the CAN bus code but have spent the last few days looking over examples and searching the web for tips. I copied your sample code from the RedDragon 407 and will be comparing it closely with my code (which came from the ST examples and use the StdPeriph library.