Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Testing if USART works?

salahuddinash
Associate II
Posted on March 23, 2014 at 02:05

Hi everyone, 

I'm a newbie with stm32f4Discovery kit, and I've just finished writing a code for implementing sending and receiving a character using USART, I'm using Keil uV5

Here is my code which is an example found on the web with some modification to suite stm32f407 microcontroller 

<p>

#include <stm32f4xx.h>

void USARTSetup(void);

int SendChar(int ch);

int GetChar(void);

int main(void)

{

int input,output;

USARTSetup();

output=SendChar(1);

input=GetChar();

output += output;

input += input;

return 0;

}

void USARTSetup(void)

{

//USART1 clock enable / port A clock enable

RCC->AHB1ENR |= ((1<<0)|(1<<4));       

//configure GPIOA 

/*Each pin in portA has two corresponding bits in MODER, 00->input(default), 01->output, 10->alternate function

*bit 18,19 = ''10'' to make PA9 as alternate function, bit 20,21 = ''00'' to make PA10 as input*/

GPIOA->MODER |=(1<<19) ;          

// step lightly , no pull up nor pull down resistors, 00->not pull nor push, 01->pull-up, 10->pull-down

GPIOA->PUPDR = 0;    

//speed of PA9 50MHz, 11->50MHz

GPIOA->OSPEEDR |= ((1<<18)|(1<<19));

//configure USART1

//baud rate

USART1->BRR = 64000000L/115200L;

//enable Tx and Rx 

USART1->CR1 |= ((1<<2)|(1<<3));

//enable USART

USART1->CR1 |= (1<<13);

}

int SendChar(int ch)

{

//Check if DR is empty and the previous sent data is sent or not, with checking <RXNE> bit

while(!( USART1->SR & (1<<7)));

USART1->DR=(ch&0xFF);

return (ch);

}

int GetChar(void)

{

//Check if data is recceived or not with checking <RXNE> bit

while(!(USART1->SR & (1<<5))); 

return ((int)(USART1->DR & 0xFF));

}

</p>

I've compiled this code and it was compiled without any errors or warning.. 

now I want to find out if my code function properly or not