cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I run a USART project using Virtual Com Port in STM32F4 Discovery ?

tuandanh
Associate
Posted on March 24, 2014 at 17:48

Hi everyone, 

I am a newbie with the KIT STM32F4 Discovery. So, now I want to use USART to send and receive data through Virtual Com Port (using Micro USB) but I have some problems with this. I can't find any COM in Device Manager in the PC. I 've read many threads about this problem but now, It's only a mess in my mind. So, someone please tells me Steps to run the USART project. one more question,  are there any libraries for this ? My English is bad , so please forgive me if I say anything wrong. Thank you very much. 0690X00000605XxQAI.png0690X00000605Y2QAI.png

#usart #rs232
5 REPLIES 5
chen
Associate II
Posted on March 27, 2014 at 18:35

Hi

'' I am a newbie with the KIT STM32F4 Discovery. So, now I want to use USART to send and receive data through Virtual Com Port''

You cannot!

The USART is a physical RS232 port. It must connect to another UART of some kind.

(The USART only works to Vdd 3.3V - you MUST use a RS232 level converter such as a MAX232 to connect with another RS232 port)

You can get USB to RS232 cables which will plug into your PC.

Then, you can connect the STM32 USART to PC via this converter.

OR

VCP - is RS232 emulated through USB. This requires the STM32 to implement a USB device - the CDC device from the USB OTG library.

You can then connect the USB of the STM32 directly to the USB on your PC and it will appear as a VCP device.

Posted on March 28, 2014 at 04:36

The v19 firmware for the ST-LINK used in the Nucleo F401RE does provide for a USB USART connection. This firmware might provide a means to do this on Discovery boards, I might experiment with this during the week.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
bnp979
Associate III
Posted on October 09, 2014 at 00:24