cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Jumping to Application

Lori B.
Associate III
Posted on May 13, 2014 at 16:53

Hi, I'm quite new with the ARM and STM32 world.

I'm developing an application wich has to load a bootloader and, at a certain point, jump to the main application. I'm using the STM32F4-Disco.

The bootload is quite complex, using FreeRTOS and STemWin, comunicating to an external device with USART periph.

Using a USB OTG drive which han an image.bin file on it (which is the main app code), I load it to a flash memory sector that for me is

APPLICATION_ADDRESS (uint32_t)0x08080000

and then press a button on the touch-LCD for jumping to the loaded code.

The jumping function is:

cmd_Jump_To_Application(APPLICATION_ADDRESS)

void cmd_Jump_To_Application(uint32_t start_Address)

{

USART_DeInit(USART2);

USART_DeInit(USART1);

RCC_APB2PeriphResetCmd(RCC_APB2Periph_USART1, ENABLE);

RCC_APB2PeriphResetCmd(RCC_APB2Periph_USART1, DISABLE);

RCC_APB1PeriphResetCmd(RCC_APB1Periph_USART2, ENABLE);

RCC_APB1PeriphResetCmd(RCC_APB1Periph_USART2, DISABLE);

RCC_DeInit();

__disable_irq();       

uint32_t addressToJump = *(__IO uint32_t*) (start_Address + 4);

pFunction Jump_To_Application = (pFunction) addressToJump;

/* Initialize application's Stack Pointer */

__set_MSP(*(__IO uint32_t*) start_Address);   

/* Call Reset Handler */

Jump_To_Application();

}

Assuming that the downloading part to flash memory is right (I ported from the FW_Upgrade example, and debugging I can see what I expect in the application sector), there is something wrong. When I press the jump button I get a white screen and everything freezing and I can't start the main application.

I'm missing something for sure, maybe about stack or some other vector adress\init, but I can't understand what. Some suggestions? Thanks!
25 REPLIES 25
Posted on May 13, 2014 at 17:22

Use a debugger and step into it.