Posted on November 05, 2008 at 09:44

Nested interrupts and absolute flash variables

10 REPLIES 10
pt1
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 12:48

Hi

I'm new in STM32 software development and I have 2 questions:

1) Nested interrupts: I've tried several settings of the preemption and the sublevel interrupt but nothing help's. I need to have Timer1 interrupt the highest priority Interrupt, so it can interrupt an USART1 interrupt. Is this possible? If so, how?

2) I need to have some const variable at an absolut address in flash memory. It should be at the end of the flash memory. How can I do that?

I'm using the GNU compiler from raisonance.

Best regards Edi

pt1
Associate II

Hi,

nobody who can help me? No hints where I can search or get help?

Best regards Edi

picguy
Associate II

>I need to have Timer1 interrupt the highest priority Interrupt

You can't do that. But timer1 can interrupt a lower priority interrupt. You might be confused because lower numbered priorities are higher priority.

design5
Associate II

Hi Pt1:

In general, I try to avoid nested interrupts. It saves me a lot of headaches. Sorry, I can not be of more help, except to suggest looking at your design, and requirements, to see if you can do without nested interrupts.

Garry Anderson.

ivanov-i
Associate II

Hi Pt1,

The NVIC block, which is inside the STM32, is desribed in ''Cortex - M3 Techincal Reference Manual'', which could be found on ARM web-site. Note, than STM32 uses only 4 out of the 8 possible priority bits, which are the most significant ones. Another specific is that the counting of interrupt numbers starts from the Watchdog (0) and goes up.

About locating of constant at a fixed address - I am not using the GNU compiler, but in IAR it is possible by locating the constant in a named section and then assigning a phisical address of the given section in the .icf file. In GNU there should be an equivalent way to do so.

pt1
Associate II

Hi guys,

thank you so far,