Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32L152RE documentation and capture timer problem

nicolas2399
Associate II
Posted on August 19, 2014 at 19:55

Hi,

I am new with programming STM32 but I've experience with MSP430. I'm looking for information on setting timer / capture timer. TI has many user guide and complete datasheet explaining each register. I didn't find the same.

My second problem is with my capture timer. I'm using the code example ''TIM_PWM_Input'' in order to measure a frequency. It is said that CCR1 is for the duty cycle and CCR2 to compute the frequency. I only need to compute the frequency but I don't find track of configuration of CCR1. Then, CCR2 always reset after each interrupt. How can I keep its value?

Thank you for your help. Please show me as well where I can find a detailed documentation so that I can make my own way.
3 REPLIES 3
Posted on August 19, 2014 at 20:29

You want to review the

http://www.st.com/web/en/resource/technical/document/reference_manual/CD00240193.pdf

for register level minutia.

PWM Input uses TWO channels (1 & 2).

To measure frequency use Input Capture, and do a delta ticks computation between subsequent measurements in a CCRx latch. Remember there is only ONE counting element in the timer, and four latches (which don't count)
Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
nicolas2399
Associate II
Posted on August 20, 2014 at 08:27

Hi,

Thank you. Reference Manual was indeed what I was looking for.

Not sure to get your point on Input Capture. I want to use the capture mode. I get an interrupt after each rising edge on my input. I would like to save the current tick counter. I want to have 10 periods (without resetting the tick counter after each interrupt). Then subtract my first value to my last value and divide it by my 10 periods.