Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F437VI

hariharan
Associate
Posted on September 22, 2014 at 08:05

Hi 

This is a very general question. I am new to cortex M4 processors. I would like to know if I can use a piece of code written in a cortex M4 processor (say STM32F437VI) in any of ST's cortex M0+ or M3 processor, as long as the piece of code uses only the instructions available in cortex M0+ or M3 cores. Or would the ISA being different cause any issues?

Regards

Hari    
4 REPLIES 4
chen
Associate II
Posted on September 22, 2014 at 12:16

Hi

''I would like to know if I can use a piece of code written in a cortex M4 processor (say STM32F437VI) in any of ST's cortex M0+ or M3 processor, as long as the piece of code uses only the instructions available in cortex M0+ or M3 cores.''

No and Yes.

There are 2 different aspects to this question :

1) Compiler - high level C to asemmbler (and the thumb mode)

Generally speaking, so long as the code in C is generic and the correct compiler setting are set (including the correct 'ARM Thumb mode') then the compiler should be able to generate code.

2) Processor specifics eg Peripheral registers.

You mentioned 1 specific processor  - STM32F437VI

and 3 different ARM variants (cortex M0+, M3 and M4)

All three are a variant of the original ARM7 (I think) but each has been modified.

The M0+ is targeted for very low power application (sacrificing performance for low power)

The M4 is the same as the M3 but has a Floating point co-processor part.

ST do many different ranges L0, F4 etc

Each is centered around a different ARM Cortex M series

Then each part has different peripherals to target a specific market.

Code which is for a specific part will probably have references to specific peripheral registers - this will probably not be portable.