Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DMA to external DAC transfer via SPI communication

franck2
Associate II
Posted on November 13, 2014 at 13:32

Hi everybody,

I'm a beginner with STM32F30x µP. I'd like to made a DMA transfers from SRAM to an external DAC via SPI communication. Is it possible? Can I even configure a timer (TIMx) to generate a PWM signal or One Pulse Mode signal on TIMx_CHx and use it as DMA trigger and also as NSS signal input to latch the SPI data transfers to my external DAC?

Thanks for your advice on that point.

Regards,

Franck
19 REPLIES 19
megahercas6
Senior
Posted on November 13, 2014 at 15:20

Not exactly,

you could generate data stream, with CLK and MOSI, but you will not be able to toggle CS pin to make it work, or at least this is what i know, i never had luck with hard_cs on stm32

but i can give you code for internal SRAM to internal DAC, triggered by timer, it does work for me,

franck2
Associate II
Posted on November 13, 2014 at 16:13

Hi Linas,

I need a DAC resolution of 12bit ILN +/-1LSB for my application. The STM32F30x internal DAC is really bad. On page 109 of DM00093333(STM32F302x6/x8) the electrical specifications of DAC are given. ILN given for a 12-bit input code of ±4 max LSB with note3: ''Data based on characterization results, not tested in production''. So as far I can't use the internal DAC! That's why I select an external one (AD5628 -Octal 12 bits SPI voltage output).

Also reference manual RM0365 DM00094349 gives at pg159 the summary of DMA1 request for each channel. (STM32F302 I am working with, uses only DMA1 which have 7 configurable channels). I've attached also a timer comparison table. It shows for my application which timer I can use.

Why can't I used TIM2 to generate a PWM signal on TIM2_CH2 for example and use it as DMA trigger and also as NSS signal input to latch the SPI data transfers?

Attachments :