Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADC with DMA - HAL libraries

marlos
Associate
Posted on November 10, 2014 at 12:35

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum so excuse me if I fail to hold to certain standards in my first posts. I'm currently working with a STM32F4 Discovery board using the CubeMX-generated configuration code to program an application. Part of that is converting 8 ADC channels in DMA circular mode, and as I have never used DMA before, there are some things I don't quite understand and some things I can't get working quite the way I want. So I came to you guys for help. The ADC config I set up with CubeMX is: ADC1, ADC2 and ADC3 global interrupts enabled (although I don't ever touch those); DMA2 Stream0 global interrupt enabled; DMA request on ADC1, peripheral to memory, priority high, circular mode; 12 bit resolution, right aligned, EOC flag at end of all conversions (8 in total); Here's the configuration code generated by CubeMX:

/* ADC1 init function */
void MX_ADC1_Init(void)
{
ADC_ChannelConfTypeDef sConfig;
/**Configure the global features of the ADC (Clock, Resolution, Data Alignment and number of conversion) 
*/
hadc1.Instance = ADC1;
hadc1.Init.ClockPrescaler = ADC_CLOCKPRESCALER_PCLK_DIV8;
hadc1.Init.Resolution = ADC_RESOLUTION12b;
hadc1.Init.ScanConvMode = ENABLE;
hadc1.Init.ContinuousConvMode = ENABLE;
hadc1.Init.DiscontinuousConvMode = DISABLE;
hadc1.Init.NbrOfDiscConversion = 1;
hadc1.Init.ExternalTrigConvEdge = ADC_EXTERNALTRIGCONVEDGE_NONE;
hadc1.Init.DataAlign = ADC_DATAALIGN_RIGHT;
hadc1.Init.NbrOfConversion = 8;
hadc1.Init.DMAContinuousRequests = ENABLE;
hadc1.Init.EOCSelection = EOC_SEQ_CONV;
HAL_ADC_Init(&hadc1);
/**Configure for the selected ADC regular channel its corresponding rank in the sequencer and its sample time. 
*/
sConfig.Channel = ADC_CHANNEL_0;
sConfig.Rank = 1;
sConfig.SamplingTime = ADC_SAMPLETIME_3CYCLES;
HAL_ADC_ConfigChannel(&hadc1, &sConfig);