cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ARM-M7 - Worried about STM32Cube stability (chaos imminent?)

uc2013135191
Associate II
Posted on June 22, 2015 at 04:57

Hi everyone,

So I am pretty new with the STM32 MCUs and following good advise I am using the standard peripheral library - nothing is more frustrating than driver bugs.

The only problem so far is that little compiled HMTL for the F0 had for some reason the timer functions in the modules index (weird). But the source files are so well commented that I use them instead.

But now the ARM-M7, the STM32F7. The only driver library is on the STM32Cube. For what I've head there are some bugs in the other families libraries and I am worried about that.

I come to ask for more experienced users opinion on the cube at this moment (the F7 and other families). I want to keep using the standard library (though I really liked the MX) but then I will have a different library for the M7!

F4 codes in Standard Peripheral library are for the most part lost no?
6 REPLIES 6
Posted on June 24, 2015 at 18:57

Chaos suggests you have no control.

I'm not scared of programming micro-controllers at a register level. I prefer a thin abstraction so my code can get ported with minimal effort, and bit-level minutia doesn't get into my core code.

Porting SPL functionality that I use to another chip/architecture also does not scare me.

What worries me more is that this isn't a full Cortex-M7 implementation. Will have to see what the F7-DISCO delivers.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
tm3341
Associate II
Posted on June 26, 2015 at 00:22

I can say the same as clive1.

It's better then programming in register level than using HAL drivers. 

So many bugs, very bad optimization. So much code is executed which is not necessary all the time. I don't like this.

grandvu
Associate
Posted on June 30, 2015 at 06:15