cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner - May this thread help others like me.

matt239955
Associate II
Posted on January 04, 2015 at 06:57

Hello all.  I have designed an electronics board from scratch with an engineer and we have made our first prototype board.  We have chosen the STM32F407VGT6 processor.

I have downloaded the STMCubeMX software and I have bought an ST-Link/V2 kit for loading(?) and debugging(?).

For my product I will be using GPIO for buttons and LEDs, I2C, RS232 (ascii commands for my system bi-directional), USB (Loading firmware updates?), and Ethernet (TCP control instead of the RS232, loading firmware updates, web-based user configuration, and IOS/IPAD/IPHONE app control).

I have done C++, Visual Basic, and some HTML/XML programming but it was a long while back, and currently I am using a visual studio for control-systems programming that is manufacturer specific - so while I am not a beginner to programming.....I am not familiar with ARM processor programming and the best IDE (Integrated Development Environment) that I should use.

I prefer a mac....but I am running windows via parallels.

What I hope to answer from posting this thread is:

-What software besides the STM32CubeMX software do I need to get?

-Will I be using the ST-Link/V2 to upload the compiled project?

-Will I be able to use the ST-Link/V2 to easily test GPIO (''see'' button presses and light leds) or run instructions for debugging?

-Will I be using C++ for my customized programming within the IDE?

-Once I get some basic features programmed/installed/debugged, how should I develop my web-based user interface and IOS app?  Is this capable within the IDE or will I be looking at another software package for that.

-Where can I find some ''straight forward'' instructions or videos that will help me get up to speed with these things.

Thank you.

#stm32-youtube
12 REPLIES 12
matt239955
Associate II
Posted on January 04, 2015 at 16:58