cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F407VET6 not entering code - left nRST floating by mistake

siegelj
Associate II
Posted on December 30, 2014 at 04:46

I goofed, big time. I'm new to the STM32F and I didn't follow the STM32F4 discovery schematic. I built a board that I wanted to power up from flash, and while I remembered the BOOT0 setting (GND), I left nRST floating.

I can use SWD to program the board, but simply applying power doesn't start the code execution. If I use the ST-LINK software, I can manually start the code running by forcing a system reset.

I understand there is an internal pull-up on the reset pin, but do I need to configure it? Is the 100nF capacitor required for self-start execution? I had a few PCBs made, so if there's a software-only solution I can test (short of forcing a reset with the ST-LINK each time), that's much appreciated as well.

Thank you!
8 REPLIES 8
siegelj
Associate II
Posted on February 03, 2015 at 17:14

Thanks for all your help, though I am still unable to start the PCB without the ST Link. A simplified schematic appears here:

http://imgur.com/eNiqW8w

The startup code I am using is the standard uVision start_stm32f4xx.s:

[code]

; Reset Handler

Reset_Handler   PROC

EXPORT  Reset_Handler             [WEAK]

IMPORT  SystemInit

IMPORT  __main

LDR     R0, =SystemInit

BLX     R0

LDR     R0, =__main

BX      R0

ENDP

[/code]

I understand that a solution might be to add a 0.1uF capacitor to GND on NRST, but I would like to exhaust software options prior to modifying several PCBs. For what it's worth, I used an oscilloscope to examine NRST and the behavior seems appropriate.

I'm new to assembler but found a good LED toggle example. I'm trying to work that into my startup code now.

siegelj
Associate II
Posted on March 07, 2015 at 15:24