tylerd
Associate II
Posted on November 04, 2008 at 11:24

USART Problems

7 REPLIES 7
tylerd
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 12:50

I'm pretty new at coding for the ARM processor, but I seem to be having trouble implementing a basic non-interrupting USART communication with Hyperterminal. Basic meaning I have a probe hooked up to the micro-controller's TX pin, and I'm not seeing anything signal on it.

I'm using IAR's Embedded Workbench as my compiler and debugger, via j-link, and I've gotten code to run, which makes an LED to blink on the dev board, so I know it's running actual code. I've tried to get some of the ST USART examples to run, but they're running in ''thumb'' mode, and I can't seem to run it in ARM mode, so I just looked at what code they used specifically for USART.

The interesting thing is that when I'm using the j-link, I'm able to see what registers have certain values on them. I've watched the GPIO to see if it initializes correctly (it does), but when I watch the control registers pertaining to USART1, nothing changes on them, even when I'm just loading the default values in the Init Structure, then initializing and enabling the USART.

Sorry about the novel, but any tips? Thanks in advance.

andreas2
Associate II

Have you enabled the USART1 clock?

st3
Associate II

Quote:

I can't seem to run it in ARM mode

The STM32 - and any other Cortex-M3 - doesn't do ARM mode...

Does it? :-?

[ This message was edited by: st7 on 01-11-2008 23:32 ]

tylerd
Associate II

Just checking in. I looked at the USART clock to see if it was enabled. It was on the default disabled, so I changed it, but it still doesn't produce any results. Right now I'm looking again at the setup functions, and using the ''watch'' feature in the debug workbench software, and it still doesn't look like the functions are working correctly.

There is a line of code after the function gets done setting the preferences (e.g. mode, stop bits):

USARTx->CR2 = (u16)tmpreg;