Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F4 USB VCP (cdc) and DFU

deliancourt
Associate II
Posted on March 26, 2015 at 11:26

Hello,

I communicate with an STM32F4 eval board and a host computer by using VCP, I would like permit a DFU by using software.

I search the quickly solution to implement both. I hesit between redefine USB interface when STM32 receive a specific request by VCP (desactivate VCP and activate DFU) but i don't know if is possible, the second solution will be to implement two interface with CDC but I'm not really good with USB.

All advice are welcome. Thanks by advance

#usb-cdc-vcp-dfu-and
6 REPLIES 6
Mikk Leini
Senior
Posted on March 27, 2015 at 21:04

Hello,

Let me get this right - for what you want to use DFU? For downloading new firmware?

If so, then story goes like that - DFU is a bootloader protocol and bootloader is usually a separate application in it's own memory area. In STM32 case it's in the beginning of Flash because thats where the reset vector is located. In bootloader there's usually some button or RAM condition check - if that's not set then it will jump to the real application (which in the following Flash area).

Anyway... you don't need to put DFU and VCP into one application. Keep DFU in bootloader and VCP in your application.  Then use a custom linker script to leave some no-init bytes into RAM for both application. Remember you also need to define non-overlapping Flash areas in linker. If you get special command over VCP write a magic number to that no-init RAM area and do hard reset. In bootloader check if that RAM area contains magic number and if so then stay in boot. That boot then initializes USB DFU and your PC will detect it. After finishing, clear the magic number and jump to application (or do reset). 

You can get DFU example from STM32F4Cube\Projects\STM324x9I_EVAL\Applications\USB_Device\DFU_Standalone. You need to configure it for your device and do the RAM no-init stuff on your own.