Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Info about receiving buffer in usb cdc vcp application with stm32cube

valerio2
Associate II
Posted on April 10, 2015 at 17:43

Hi everybody,

I am a newbie trying to develop a simple application for an stm32f429 discovery board with freertos, STM32Cube_FW_F4_V1.5.0and vcp over usb capabilities. I used stm32cubemx to generate the project that works fine. I can run a simple echo program via terminal with the micro connected to a pc with windows7.

However there are some things that are very unclear to me and I want to ask for an explanation. I unsuccesfullygoogled a lot, gave a look at the examples in STM32Cube_FW_F4_V1.5.0 and read theUser manualUM1734 (STM32Cube USB device library)

Particularly, what I don't get is related to usbd_cdc_if.c. In the version generated by stm32cubemx there are

/* Define size for the receive and transmit buffer over CDC */

/* It's up to user to redefine and/or remove those define */

#define APP_RX_DATA_SIZE 4

/* Create buffer for reception and transmission */

/* It's up to user to redefine and/or remove those define */

/* Received Data over USB are stored in this buffer */

uint8_t UserRxBufferHS[APP_RX_DATA_SIZE];

/* Send Data over USB CDC are stored in this buffer */

uint8_t UserTxBufferHS[APP_TX_DATA_SIZE];

/**

* @brief CDC_Init_HS

* Initializes the CDC media low layer over the USB HS IP

* @param None

* @retval Result of the operation: USBD_OK if all operations are OK else USBD_FAIL

*/

static

int8_t CDC_Init_HS(

void

)

{

hUsbDevice_1 = &hUsbDeviceHS;

/* USER CODE BEGIN 8 */

/* Set Application Buffers */

USBD_CDC_SetTxBuffer(hUsbDevice_1, UserTxBufferHS, 0);

USBD_CDC_SetRxBuffer(hUsbDevice_1, UserRxBufferHS);

return

(USBD_OK);

/* USER CODE END 8 */

}

static

int8_t CDC_Receive_HS (uint8_t* Buf, uint32_t *Len)

{

/* USER CODE BEGIN 11 */

return

(USBD_OK);

/* USER CODE END 11 */

}