Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot get STM32 host to enumerate a device

magester1
Associate II
Posted on April 20, 2015 at 13:21

Hello everyone!

This is my first time in the forums... so greetings to all of you.

I've been trying for the past week or two to compile the uC as a USB FS host and enumerate a device (for testing purposes I'm using a PC mouse), however, I haven't been able to do so till now.

I'm using the STM32F4Discovery board and compiling with the gcc ARM toolchain. The demonstration that comes pre-compiled into the kit works flawlessly as a USB device.

Ok, so onto the problem.

First, I used the STMcube to generate the code for a FS Host with HID class and wrote the necessary missing 'user code' to drive the Vbus pin. After compiling and running the program, it reaches the enumeration state (ENUM_IDLE) waiting for a response (CMD_WAIT, and further down CTRL_SETUP_WAIT) and never leaves this point. When querying the URB status it returns USBH_URB_NOTREADY. I can see the mouse lit up so I know power is reaching it, I'm trying to discard as many 'dumb' problems as I can.

Now, the provided host/device library doesn't really work for me, there are some things that don't work the way I need them to, so in time I was going to have to change it or re-write it. So, given that the generated code doesn't even seem to work I set on to that task.

I've read the Reference Manual, and it's really a shame to see how little the initialization process and such are documented. It's as if they expected you to go look at the examples, which I don't really mind but it could at least be noted so in the manual.