Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic questions about Alternate Functions

laojian
Associate II
Posted on August 12, 2015 at 10:38

Hi all,

I am a beginner of MCU, and right now is digging into STM32F1xx serial MCU, which is pretty old, but simple enough for beginner. 

I have spent a lot of time on some example codes, still with the confusion that how does alternate function of IO pins is defined, or activated? Or in other words, how does a pin know it is configured as AFIO, not default GPIO, and also know what AF it is configured to? Since it may have several alternate functions to choose.

For example, AFIO of pin PB7 of F103 is defined as I2C1_SDA/FSMC_NADV/TIM4_CH2. How can I enable FSMC function, but config PB7 as I2C1_SDA? 

Thanks for your time~~

#afio
5 REPLIES 5
Posted on August 12, 2015 at 14:07

The F1 is a bit rougher than the newer parts, but you select the ''AF'' mode either Push-Pull, Open-Drain, or as an Input

Multiple AF functions on a pin are decided by which peripheral is enabled (ie TIM channel and inferred direction), an Input can go to everything without issue.

typedef enum
{ GPIO_Mode_AIN = 0x0,
GPIO_Mode_IN_FLOATING = 0x04,
GPIO_Mode_IPD = 0x28,
GPIO_Mode_IPU = 0x48,
GPIO_Mode_Out_OD = 0x14,
GPIO_Mode_Out_PP = 0x10,
GPIO_Mode_AF_OD = 0x1C,
GPIO_Mode_AF_PP = 0x18
}GPIOMode_TypeDef;

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Nesrine M_O
Lead II
Posted on August 12, 2015 at 16:30

Hi,

In STM32 F1 series:

1. The configuration to use an I/O as alternate function depends on the peripheral mode used. For example, the USART Tx pin should be configured as alternate function pushpull while the USART Rx pin should be configured as input floating or input pull-up.