cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32: enter and exit correctly to/from an ISR (assembly code)

life758
Associate II
Posted on November 28, 2015 at 18:34

Hello everybody,

At the moment I'm studying for an exam based on microcontrollers and I have choose the stm32 family, but I need to program this microcontroller in assembly. In the last meeting with my professor, he had a doubt on how I handled the interrupt routine. I had explain that my code doesn't fail and doesn't saturate the stack, but maybe I'm wrong and I wrote a ''bad code''. Could someone enlighten me about this? I wrote this interrupt routine:

PUBLIC USART1_IRQ37
SECTION .text:CODE:REORDER:NOROOT(1)
USART1_IRQ37
push {LR}
BL get_char 
BL checking
BL put_char
pop {PC}

I need to save the LR, because the code will jump in others subroutines. Am I right? With the instruction:

pop {PC}

Does it exit correctly from the ISR? Another question. In one subroutine I want to exit from the ISR and return directly to ''main'' and wait for another interrupt in sleep mode, if a counter is less than 3.

section .text:CODE:NOROOT(2)
THUMB
get_char
ldrb r3, [r2, #4] 
strb r3, [r5, r4] 
add r4, r4, #1 ; count++
cmp r4, #3 ; if r4 >= 3
BCS complete 
pop {PC} ; return to main 
complete
mov r4, #0 ; count=0
BX LR ; return from function call

Am I doing everythig right? I will appreciate any tip! Regards
2 REPLIES 2
Posted on November 28, 2015 at 19:03

So does ''professor'' in this context infer some higher level knowledge of the ARM/Cortex implementation?

Interrupt handlers on many micro-processors require you manually push register context onto the stack, ie any registers you or your code touch must by pushed/poped around them.

The Cortex-Mx series pushes a number of registers automatically, ie R0-R3, R12, LR, etc. In tail-chaining mode it just lets these get trashed from IRQ to IRQ, and then recovers the context as it leaves the IRQ state.