cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with HAL_Init()

seprac
Associate II
Posted on July 10, 2015 at 17:18

Hi, I am kind of new to the STM32 but have found the libraries (HAL) to be greatly useful.

I am using the STM32F4 Discovery Board,

Even when I was trying to simply blink the onboard LEDs using the GPIO Peripheral, it is simply going to an infinite loop (Found in CooCOX debugger), except when an interrupt is triggered). 

After an entire day's struggle, trying to find out what is wrong....the programme worked as intended on deleting HAL_Init() from the main.

Am I missing something?...if you want I can post my code here

10 REPLIES 10
seprac
Associate II
Posted on July 11, 2015 at 16:17

Can someone please reply..

Posted on July 11, 2015 at 16:40

So figure out where this infinite loop is in the code, and why it's stuck there. Is it in the Hard Fault handler?

Review what's in HAL_Init(), if you're just blinking an LED, there can't conceivably much code to look over. Step through everything with the debugger if that helps.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
seprac
Associate II
Posted on July 11, 2015 at 18:39

Hi. Thanks for your reply. Yes, it goes to the fault handler with description as follows 

This is the code that gets called when the processor receives an 

*         unexpected interrupt.  This simply enters an infinite loop, preserving

*         the system state for examination by a debugger.

I have tried step by step debgging.....The only time the board responds is when I trigger the interrupt,( triggerred when I press the user button), but once the handler is executed it again returns to the fault handler.