Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32CubeMX freezes when generating code

njansen1
Associate II
Posted on August 11, 2015 at 10:26

Hi,

STMCubeMX is freezing every time I try to generate code for an STM32F429 project.  This is my first time using it, but everything so far has been pretty straightforward, and I haven't given it any crazy parameters that would seem unreasonable.

The exact steps to reproduce the problem are: Load the IOC file (pasted below).  Click Project -> Generate Code.  It will display a progress bar, and will basically stay there forever (hours, etc).  I've tried it several times, and it does the same thing every time.

I will try re-generating the project and trying that, but figured I'd post this here to see if anyone else has had the problem, and to see if anyone here could re-create the problem.  

Here's my 'STMF429ZETx.ioc' file:

http://pastebin.com/8hR9gveS

And an image of the app, in its frozen state:

http://imgur.com/pOawxyl

Oh, my OS platform is Windows 8 on a pretty standard Lenovo laptop.  My Java JRE version is 8.0.51.16.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
6 REPLIES 6
Posted on August 11, 2015 at 11:12

Hi jansen.neil,

Which version of CubeMx are using? The last one is 4.9.0.

Could you change your machine?

-Shahrzad-

njansen1
Associate II
Posted on August 11, 2015 at 16:26

Hi,

STM32CubeMX version is 4.9.0.

I made a new project and tried to duplicate the settings section by section, and it actually worked (didn't freeze), although I'm not sure why.  If I do a diff on the two *.ioc's they differ, but I can't figure out why one would work but the other one would make it crash.  Either way, I guess it's working now.