Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interfacing a CIS with STM32F

ed_62
Associate II
Posted on August 16, 2015 at 23:54

Hello everyone,

I have a project in which I am using a Contact Image Sensor. I receive an analog signal at 4 MHz which represents the color of a pixel. I have to transform it into a digital signal of 8 bits ( this resolution is enough for me ). Then, I want to save it and to transmit it to the computer. The resolution of a page can reach 35 Million of pixels, that represents 35 Mo.

I am looking for a discovery kit (STM32F) because I am totally new in this field. I didn't find any boards with enough storage. Does it exist or do i need to use an external storage ? (USB key, Memory card ...). Is it simple to interface ?

For example, I find this board : which seems to be interesting but they are 3 ADC at 2.4 Msps. I know that we can combine them to reach 7.2 Msps but I don't know if it is the best and the easiest way to proceed. Would it be better to use a faster ADC ?

Thank you for your consideration and your help.

5 REPLIES 5
Posted on August 17, 2015 at 01:58

The STM32F429I-DISCO doesn't really have enough external SDRAM to handle the volume of data you are talking about, and I don't think you've got the bandwidth to process and deal with it real time in less memory. You'd want to look for something with 64MB of SDRAM rather than 8MB

The board also isn't well suited to expansion, so using the DCMI, SDIO or ETHERNET interfaces isn't really going to work.

Not sure how you're going to synchronize the external signal clock with that of the processor and ADC, you might consider an external ADC, interfaced via the DCMI, which could provide an 8-bit synchronous interface.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
ed_62
Associate II
Posted on August 17, 2015 at 09:28

Thank your for your answer.