Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BLE central application and low power

Aurélien f
Senior
Posted on October 18, 2017 at 10:58

Hello,

I'm pretty new to BLE devices. I intend to develop a BLE central application device that needs to run in low power most of the time. This central device will be paired with some other slave devices arround. My slaves will send data when it is needed. My question is the following and regards the central application device : is it possible to combine a BLE central application device and ultra low power, that is to say, is it possible to wake up my device when there is data to listen ? Or do i need to manually set my device in RX mode and wait for data coming from my slaves ?

If you have any ideas, don't hesitate to share your thoughts 🙂

Regards,

Aurélien

4 REPLIES 4
Antonio Vilei
Senior III
Posted on October 19, 2017 at 10:33

Hi Aurélien,

please take a look at the SampleApp_DMA_LowPower project in the

http://www.st.com/content/st_com/en/products/embedded-software/mcus-embedded-software/stm32-embedded-software/stm32cube-embedded-software-expansion/x-cube-ble1.html

SW package.

To test it you need two STM32 Nucleo boards with their respective BlueNRG-MS STM32 expansion boards. One board will be configured as Peripheral role, while the other will be configured as Central role.

After connection has been established, by pressing the USER button on one board,

the micro on the other one gets toggled from RUN to STOP mode and viceversa.

This example is highly optimized and shows how to get very low power consumption while still being able to react to BLE events.

Best regards,

Antonio

Aurélien f
Senior
Posted on October 19, 2017 at 15:18

Hi,

Thank you very much for your reply

Do you think with nucleo l073 it is possible because i have already several of them !

Is this expansion board could be ok to start : 

http://www.st.com/en/ecosystems/x-nucleo-idb05a1.html