Associate II
Posted on January 08, 2009 at 15:51

Problems using USB and PWM Input

5 REPLIES 5
sballano
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 12:58

Hi,

I'm very new to the STM32, I have an Olimex Header Board (STM32F103RB 64pin). As I'm starting, I'm testing all the ports I will have to use for my project, that includes using a virtual COM port to communicate with the device, 4 PWM Inputs, 4 PWM Outputs, 6 ADC Inputs and some digital I/O.

All of the above has worked well together, except for the PWM Inputs. When I combine the code of the PWM Input example with the Virtual COM example (the one modified by lanchon, that can be downloaded from this forum) the VCOM port stops working, I don't know the reason. Is there any incompatibility in using the USB port and the TIM2 (or TIM3) as Input Capture together??

If I don't enable the TIM2 clock, the usb port works as expected, but of course, I can't read the PWM, and if I enable the TIM2 or TIM3 the USB don't work (so I can't communicate with the device to read the values). This is what my linux says in this case:

usb 2-6: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 74

usb 2-6: device descriptor read/64, error -62

usb 2-6: device descriptor read/64, error -62

When the USB works ok this is what I get:

usb 2-6: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 70

usb 2-6: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice

cdc_acm: This device cannot do calls on its own. It is no modem.

cdc_acm 2-6:1.0: ttyACM0: USB ACM device

I'm attaching only the main.c, if all code is needed just ask me.

Thanks,

Sergio

[ This message was edited by: sballano on 05-01-2009 22:25 ]

[ This message was edited by: sballano on 05-01-2009 22:31 ]

sballano
Associate II

well, this thing is getting weird...

I found out that if I disconnect the signal I was PWM injecting to the PA.01 the USB works right, it's only when I put the signal when all crashes... any ideas?

Thanks,

Sergio