Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32L476 USB device audio class sample rate cannot set to 44100

jiangpen
Associate II
Posted on November 11, 2015 at 06:04

hi all,

I am a newbie in STM32. Now I get an application to make STM32L476 as an USB audio device and playing music in PC will play in the speaker connected to STM32L476. I use the USB audio class(device) and windows 7 default driver.

I get the 48K sample rate running which is the defaut setting, but when I change to 44100, the media player cannot play because the USB driver at this sample rate may manfunction.

the change locate in the USB device lib:

&sharpdefine USBD_AUDIO_FREQ     44100

if I put to below, then it works.

&sharpdefine USBD_AUDIO_FREQ     48000

from the USB device lib document, it seems that is the only place, but does not work. I changed the codec sample rate accordingly, but it is USB problem.

thanks

JP

#stm32l476
8 REPLIES 8
romanetz4
Associate II
Posted on November 12, 2015 at 17:09

Available frequencies for USB audio device are advertised to host at Type I Interface descriptor.

/* USB Speaker Audio Type III Format Interface Descriptor */

AUDIO_FORMAT_TYPE_III_DESC_SZ,        /* bLength */

AUDIO_INTERFACE_DESCRIPTOR_TYPE,      /* bDescriptorType */

AUDIO_STREAMING_FORMAT_TYPE,          /* bDescriptorSubtype */

AUDIO_FORMAT_TYPE_III,                /* bFormatType */ 

0x02,                                 /* bNrChannels */

0x02,                                 /* bSubFrameSize :  2 Bytes per frame (16bits) */

16,                                   /* bBitResolution (16-bits per sample) */ 

0x01,                                 /* bSamFreqType only one frequency supported */ 

SAMPLE_FREQ(USBD_AUDIO_FREQ),         /* Audio sampling frequency coded on 3 bytes */

/* 11 byte*/

Also, due to the different size of ISOC OUT frames (44 samples nine times, then 45 samples), the code in class-callback function usbd_audio_DataOut has to be modified.