Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Decoupling capacitors

Diez.R.
Associate II
Posted on February 22, 2016 at 10:19

Hi all:

I am a software engineer with not much hardware experience. I am reading the following document:

AN4488

Getting started with STM32F4xxxx MCU hardware development

http://www.st.com/web/en/resource/technical/document/application_note/DM00115714.pdf

1) Section ''2.2 Power supply schemes'' says:

''The VDD pins must be connected to VDD with external decoupling capacitors: one single Tantalum or Ceramic

capacitor (min. 4.7 μF typ.10 μF) for the package + one 100 nF Ceramic capacitor for each VDD pin.''

That would be a capacitor between each VDD pin and the power supply, or GND or VSS? See also below.

2) In ''Figure 11'' there is one capacitor between each VDD/VSS pair. These pairs are called VDD1/VSS1, VDD2/VSS2

and so on. The trouble is, there are no such names like ''VDD1'', ''VSS2'' and so on in the datasheet.

I looked at the LQFP144 package for the STM32F40x we are using, and while most VDD/VSS do come in pairs, some

do not. For example, VDD on pin 72 and VDD on pin 144 have no corresponding VSS pins. What should I do in those cases?

3) Section ''7.4 Decoupling'' says:

''In addition, each power supply pair should be decoupled with filtering Ceramic capacitors

(100 nF) and one single Tantalum or Ceramic capacitor (min. 4.7 μF typ.10 μF) connected

in parallel.''

Figure 27 does show a capacitor between two neighbouring VDD and VSS pins.

I guess that sentece is not correctly phrased, and the 10 μF capacitor is not for each pair, but just one for

the whole chip, right? Or do I need 2 capacitors per VDD/VSS pair? Are those capacitors between each VDD/VSS

pair the same ones as described in part (1) [section 2.2] above?

Thanks in advance,

rdiez

3 REPLIES 3
John F.
Senior
Posted on February 22, 2016 at 11:05

A multi-layer PCB is normally used with one plane reserved for ground (VSS).