cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32Cube and FreeRTOS - only 1st spawned task runs

dean
Associate II
Posted on December 04, 2015 at 00:15

Hi, I'm new to using both STM32Cube and the FreeRTOS it provides support for, and I am trying to follow the tutorials and the FreeRTOS manuals online to create  2 separate tasks to manage the two I2C busses on our STM32L151R8T6 MCU.

Currently, only the 1st I2C task spawned ever runs, even if I put in synchro semaphores, call osThreadYield(), or change the task priorities.  If I change the order of the spawns, the other I2C task runs only.

I have read online that this could mean that the interrupt table is ''incorrect'', but I only have the sysTick interrupt enabled.  This should be all it needs is the tick interrupt?

Any ideas on what to look for would be highly appreciated.  Thanks in advance!
4 REPLIES 4
0x4e71
Associate II
Posted on December 04, 2015 at 16:13

Hi,

try to start with simplest tasks like toggling some gpios in tasks, generally you should define thread, create it and start the kernel, the tasks should run then. When it works add more complexity to the tasks like running one i2c in one of the tasks.

Also consider with more complex tasks increasing stack size for each of the tasks.

Regards,

dean
Associate II
Posted on December 04, 2015 at 16:52

Thanks for taking the time to reply.   Yes, I already got the individual tasks running in ''single task'' mode, so I'm confident the application code is ok.  

The problem is that only the first task I spawn with FreeRTOS runs.  If I switch one of the other tasks to be spawned first, it runs fine, but then none of the others run.  I have a feeling I am overlooking something simple in either the STM32Cube configuration, or else there is something I am supposed to configure manually that I cannot determine as yet.