cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which compiler do you use for programming STM32 MCUs?

fbakhtiyar
Associate II
Posted on December 19, 2015 at 09:22

Hi, 

I'm relatively new in programming microcontrollers and I'd love to ask which (free) IDE do you use for (offline) compilation and debugging? I'm using Mac OS X and already tried System Workbench with CubeMX generated project which seems to be too buggy even in simple functions. Using Eclipse IDE with arm-gcc-none-eabi compiler and open-ocd debugger looks okay but there're lots of thing I should do manually to make my code compiled properly. Another option is gcc4mbed, which is the open source project for offline mbed compiler, which I haven't tested yet.

Another thing I'd love to know is that, which library (HAL or StdPeripheralLib) is recommended to use as a professional? Also, should I really understand everything in register level to make my own code?

How do you proceed on this as an experienced professional? 

Many thanks in advance. Any help will save me a lot of time.

PS: I'm currently developing for STM32F103 for my project.

#!stm32
4 REPLIES 4
Lead
Posted on December 19, 2015 at 18:16

> I'm using Mac OS X ...

That seems a limiting restriction.

I don't know if the ''usual suspects'' like IAR, Keil, Rowley and Atollic have Mac versions, but most offer a size-restricted free version.

I'm not really aware of any free toolchain for your OS. EmBlocks and Coocox, two of the free IDEs coming to my mind, are restricted to Windows, AFAIK.

> ... already tried System Workbench with CubeMX generated project which seems to be too buggy even in simple functions.

That is not only your impression. Just look around in this forum, searching for issues with CubeMX. ST seems nonetheless dedicated to steamroll ahead, and bury the stable SPL in favour of the shaky Cube.