Did you mean: 

Standard Periph Library vs HAL

SoHaeng.Lee
Associate II
Posted on January 26, 2016 at 11:29

Hi everybody.

I confuse.

I just begun study STM32 series.

In a month, i studied hard STM32F3, F4 and i used Standard Perish Library.

But, when i used STM32CubeMX, this application creat HAL base projects.

what is better selection?
11 REPLIES 11
Radosław
Senior
Posted on January 26, 2016 at 12:25

The best choise is put away any library.   Use register based programming style.  Library use only for examples or help in some troubles.

Lead
Posted on January 26, 2016 at 12:38

> The best choise is put away any library.   Use register based programming style.

Only the best choice for a hacker, doing single-device projects.

If you develop for a device platform with several similar, but different controllers, you want to re-use as much code as possible, to cut costs for development time and testing.

That's what a good library delivers.

The 'old' SPL is stable, but abandoned by ST, and not available for the latest MCUs.

The CubeMX is new, supported, and littered with bugs. And the ''Click and Drag'' approach (IMHO) totally misses ST's most important target audience.

Or, as Murphy's Law states ''A software designed for idiots is only used by idiots''.

Finally, the choice is yours.

Radosław
Senior
Posted on January 26, 2016 at 13:20

> The best choise is put away any library.   Use register based programming style.

Only the best choice for a hacker, doing single-device projects.

You are VARY not true.  Probably you don't now what you say.
Lead
Posted on January 26, 2016 at 13:31

> You are VARY not true.  Probably you don't now what you say.

Perhaps true.

But at least a dozen of companies in the embedded business, existing longer than a few month or years, are seeing it my way.

Radosław
Senior
Posted on January 26, 2016 at 14:45

And what? 

I now many companys using STM32but NOT using any library. ST sales department says this same.

Lead