cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need I2C EEPROM example code for STM32F407

nickcupery
Associate II
Posted on February 01, 2016 at 15:28

I have a project running nicely on a STM32F407 (same chip as on the Discovery 4 board).  It's fairly simple, using only a couple of UARTs and some GPIOs, and it

uses ABSOLUTELY NO STM CODE (including HAL).  I now need to get it to

write/read arbitrary individual bytes of a 2K-bit (byte-wide) EEPROM that is

connected to the chip's I2C1 interface.  I have no experience with I2C, and I find

all STM code and documentation to be incomprehensible.  Thus, I'm hoping someone

would be willing to provide this poor boy with a working example of using the I2C

interface to exchange data with an EEPROM.  I'd be grateful!

#stm32-i2c-eeprom
9 REPLIES 9
Radosław
Senior
Posted on February 01, 2016 at 15:37

search AN2824,  is good start to create good code.

nickcupery
Associate II
Posted on February 02, 2016 at 14:08

Thank you very much for telling me about AN2824.  I had looked for App Notes before bothering y'all, of course, but I found nothing about I2C.  Apparently, my search had been limited by the fact that I was in the STM32F4 section, and AN2824 pertained to the STM32F10xx.

AN2824 is a lot better than nothing, but it is very confusing!  It talks about sending ''the address byte'' when, in fact, there are TWO DIFFERENT address bytes for the modern-day EEPROM chips I'm looking at -- the chip address (which must be sent first), and the databyte address (which must be sent immediately next).  So, every discussion, and every flowchart, in AN2824 is non-applicable.  (I've selected the Atmel AT24C02D

EEPROM, but I will probably switch to the Microchip 24AA0248 to get the MAC address.)

Anyway, I thank you again for pointing me to AN2824 even