cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F two independent CAN BUS

K_K
Associate II
Posted on December 12, 2016 at 11:50

I am new in CAN bus protocol and wanted to use two CAN channels in the STM32F as I have to receive/transmit data from/to the two different CAN bus. As per study I found that there is no master slave concept in CAN protocol but when I look at cubemx, it is configuring CAN1 as a Master and CAN2 as a Slave. In STM32F7, there are two Master CAN and one slave. What does it mean? Is it possible to transmit data using slave (CAN2)?

Please guide.

#can #stm32
8 REPLIES 8
Alan Chambers
Associate II
Posted on December 12, 2016 at 13:00

I have used the bxCAN on a device which had both CAN1 and CAN2. The MCU was STM32F429. The master/slave concept is in the bxCAN peripheral, not CubeMX. I'm not familiar enough with the details of the hardware or the reference manual to really understand the master/slave concept. It was irrelevant to my application or, at least, didn't have any significant impact.

In my case, the buses were completely independent except that the 'slave' would not work unless the 'master' was also initialised and enabled. 

Posted on December 12, 2016 at 13:57

In the F4 CAN1 is a full implementation of hardware and CAN2 is a half implementation, so CAN1 must be functional to use CAN2. Both would communicate on different buses.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
ST Renegade
Senior
Posted on December 12, 2016 at 13:59

If you have two different CAN buses, you can wire them into one and receive the whole communication on one channel if possible/allowed by your design etc. You don't need to have two channels for this (if there are no other constraints).