Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simultaneous sampling (USART+DMA+Timer)

ardavantycoon
Associate II
Posted on February 13, 2016 at 22:26

Hi guys

I recently started to learn STM32F407. I'm sticking to a problem which likes drinking a glass of water for you, so please help me, I studied many tutorials and watched many videos but 

none explains these modules when they are used together.

I want to continuously sample two channel simultaneously at 10 ksps-12 bit, then send its data through UART to MATLAB.

I used Cubemx to create configuration and initialization for this project but it doesn't use HAL library for multi channels ADC. According to HAL driver user Manual:

Multi mode ADCs Regular channels configuration

• Select the Multi mode ADC regular channels features (dual or triple mode) and configure the DMA mode using HAL_ADCEx_MultiModeConfigChannel() functions.
  • Start the ADC peripheral using HAL_ADCEx_MultiModeStart_DMA(), at this stage the user specify the length of data to be transferred at each end of conversion
  • Read the ADCs converted values using the HAL_ADCEx_MultiModeGetValue() function.

My 1st problem is how to handle this part.

My 2nd problem is general question. Is it correct to use ''HAL_TIM_PeriodElapsedCallback()''  to trigger ADC to start sampling plus send its data through UART?

If you help me by utilizing Cubemx, I am really appreciate. Otherwise I still thanks you for any help  likes example code(which include all these parts together) and whatever you can provide.

#adc #multi-mode-adc #dual-mode-adc-stm32f4 #stm32f4 #dma #usart #no-hablo-hal
6 REPLIES 6
ardavantycoon
Associate II
Posted on February 14, 2016 at 11:56