cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F3 CMSIS DSP - Consequences of number representation (q7, q15, q31, f32)?

drauckman
Associate
Posted on March 14, 2016 at 19:05

Working through the concepts of DSP on the STM32 and I have run into the question of which format I should be using in my DSP chain (q7, q15, q31 or f32)

I have tried searching books and articles and have not found an answer that explains the consequences/pros/cons of each.

I am still fairly new to using fixed-point / floating-point operations so there may be some obvious things I am overlooking.

I have samples coming in from the SDADC peripheral on the STM32F3 in differential mode which has 16 bit samples (int16_t)

Given the above information what should I be doing to get the most efficiency out of the DSP chain?  Can I feed these values directly into a CMSIS biquad filter (q15 functions) and use the results in my code currently?  Do I need to do any special normalization techniques in order to avoid truncation issues.

From what I understand I will get better SNR if I use float values to avoid the rounding quantization errors through the filter, but I can trade this off as required (float more accurate, fixed is faster)

I have seen two examples where one is using the q15 data type and another that uses the CMSIS float to/from fixed functions.  But since I am starting off with int16_t values from the ADC I am not sure which path I should consider.

Currently I am offsetting and scaling the ADC samples into a float variable (to represent my quantity in the appropriate units) as a first step in my chain.  So I can either do the fixed point up front before the conversion or I can do it after either by using the f32 functions directly or using CMSIS to convert to/from fixed point to use those functions.