cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stm32f4 beginner qustions

weejonas28
Associate II
Posted on July 05, 2016 at 07:54

Hi, I am new to stm32f4 and just started picking up some basic skills on it. Hope you guys help me answer my doubts even though the questions I ask are very basic but it will really help me out.

1. Why do we need a timer to trigger ADC?

2.what is the purpose of timers?

2. What is interrupt for?

8 REPLIES 8
Nesrine M_O
Lead II
Posted on July 05, 2016 at 10:32

Hi jonas.wee,

Welcome to STM32 community.

I'd highly recommend you to have a look to the

http://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/application_note/group0/91/01/84/3f/7c/67/41/3f/DM00236305/files/DM00236305.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM00236305.pdf

: The purpose of this application note is to provide a simple and clear description of the basic features and operating modes of the STM32 general-purpose timer peripherals.

-Syrine-
Posted on July 05, 2016 at 10:44

You don't have to trigger the ADC, but if you want specific and consistant sample rates it is important. So for example audio sampling, or frequency domain analysis.

Time stops everything from happening at once.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
weejonas28
Associate II
Posted on July 06, 2016 at 16:30

Lets say i need to sample 8KHz frequency for FFT, to do that do i  use timer to trigger adc every 8Khz or do i use dma to store data up till 8khz then tranfer to FFT?

Posted on July 06, 2016 at 16:59

I sense it is not just the STM32 you are new too.