cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can set or reset GPIO pin by using bit register ?

kalpeshpatil102
Associate III
Posted on January 12, 2017 at 08:12

hi ,i am using stm32f0 . I want to set or reset gpio pin by using assembly language programming . please help me

i am new in stm32f0

thank you  

6 REPLIES 6
Posted on January 12, 2017 at 10:09

One way to start whit this is to write a simple program accomplishing port toggle in C and make the compiler output assembly for it, if your toolchain allows this (with gcc, use -S).

JW

kalpeshpatil102
Associate III
Posted on January 14, 2017 at 17:33

hi, thank you@

Waclawek.Jan

In my code to set or reset gpio pin . because HAL Write (set and reset) take time . so for fast operation i want to used portmanipulation. but i didn't get how to do it ? i can set or reset pin by using BSRR ans BRR register. likeGPIOA->BSRR=(1<<4);// to set pin A4,GPIOA->BRR=(1<<4);// to reset pin A4. but i want to set or reset GPIO port A by using port manipulation . please help me

Posted on January 14, 2017 at 17:39

I don't understand what's wrong with using GPIOx_BSRR?

You can write directly to GPIOx_ODR, but there are gotchas like atomicity ahead.

JW

S.Ma
Principal
Posted on January 14, 2017 at 19:27

JW is right. Normal mcu have a data register. If need to modify few bits (gpios) very fast, the core would read DR, do a bit AND mask to clear gpios that needs to be, theb OR with gpios to set high, then write back to thw DR. And oh, manually wrap a interrupt disable to avoid corruption if interrupts do modify the same GPIO port....