Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to STM32's and MCU's in General

dylan
Associate III
Posted on August 26, 2016 at 10:06

Hi All,

My name is Dylan and I am new to STM32 MCU's and the more nitty gritty of MCU's in general. I have wet my appetite with Arduino and have had a lot of fun doing so. But I want more and so I have invested in a Nucleo 64 board, the STM32F446RE and I want to now start playing with it.

I want to do this properly though and so I have gone the Atollic Lite route with STM32CubeMX plugged in. I have now gotten a bit stuck - with the Arduino, you plug your board in, start programming then you see it do things. Great. But with this you need to configure the peripherals first and then go onto program it. I have started off with the bast board selector to configure the board but I am unable to see how one starts to ''code'' the board (I do realize I sound like a complete novice, so please bear with me, we all start somewhere).  From what I am gathering, the procedure here is to build the project once the board has been configured and one has done a bit of coding in ''main.c'' and then to go into the debugging perspective to step through your code.

If you could please set me on the right path with a tutorial or two perhaps, that would be great. I have tried the Atollic website and YouTube for direction but I am a little lost.

Your help is much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Dylan
7 REPLIES 7
Amel NASRI
ST Employee
Posted on August 26, 2016 at 16:49

Hi Dylan,

Welcome in the STM32 Community!

So here a starter, you have a list of ''Getting started'' documents that may help you.

If you need guidelines on how to use CubeMX, please refer to UM1718 that you find in

http://www.st.com/content/st_com/en/products/development-tools/software-development-tools/stm32-software-development-tools/stm32-configurators-and-code-generators/stm32cubemx.html#

You find there also a video that helps you to efficiently use this software tool.