Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stm32f070 low power mode flash programming and DMA

Md Mubdiul Hasan
Associate III
Posted on October 25, 2016 at 08:18

Dear All,

I am new in stm32 world.

The device I am going to make, its on low power mode.

As far as I know from STM32F070xB /STM32F070x6 datasheet, it has 128KB flash memory.

Now my question is

1.can the DMA request access flash memory ?

2. Should I need to make flash code by HAL FLASH                             Generic Driver/FLASH Firmware driver API?

3. DMA is necessary ?

6 REPLIES 6
Walid FTITI_O
Senior II
Posted on October 25, 2016 at 12:26

Hi hasan.md_mubdiul, 

First, the main information can be found in the STM32F0 reference manual RM0360.

As a brief response : 

[1+2]:

''DMA Access to Flash, SRAM, APB and AHB peripherals as source and destination''

DMA should be used in sleep mode to do memory/peripheral transfer when CPU is OFF.

In run mode , DMA can be used to save CPU load or let it do other operation. ITs use optimize the overall performance and flexibility.

[3]: Yes the driver is created for that purpose. I recommend to check and run one of the Flash example in the STM32CubeF0.

-Hannibal-

Md Mubdiul Hasan
Associate III
Posted on October 26, 2016 at 02:35

Dear Sir Hannibal,

Thank you for posting here.

You have described nicely.

Does it mean, such low power mode application I need to make Flash code also?

I am using DMA for SPI application here. Previously in this project people did not use DMA.

Let me know more about suitability about using DMA.

Regards

Hasan

Walid FTITI_O
Senior II
Posted on October 26, 2016 at 12:55

Hi 

hasan.md_mubdiul, 

There is dedicated document to learn such feature and go in deep description. After the reference manual of device , II recommend the application note 

http://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/application_note/27/46/7c/ea/2d/91/40/a9/DM00046011.pdf/files/DM00046011.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM00046011.pdf