Associate II
Posted on August 11, 2003 at 15:46

Linux support: who?

8 REPLIES 8
marios
Associate II
Posted on May 12, 2003 at 18:04

Hi guys,

one customer wants to start a project with Linux, and he asked if there are Linux packages or distributions that support the STPC directly. My board uses the STPC Industrial.

As for the GDK for Linux, can it be used with any distribution?

(you can easily guess that I am not a software developer)

thank you

Felix

thierry239955_st
Associate II
Posted on May 13, 2003 at 07:04

Felix,

STPC should support any Linux distribution with this limitation: the distribution packages and the kernel have to have been compiled for 486.

The recent well kown distributions like RedHat and Suse use more end more pentium compiled files and you could experiment problems to install them. It is never unsolvable but it could require to re-compile at least the kernel.

I think one of the best standard distribution for 486 is Slackware. You can download the last release of Slackware (9.0) or lots of other distribution from this web-site:

http://www.linuxiso.org

Old this standard distributions are not adapted to embedded solution, too big in size and the boot time is also not optimized. It is more done for a desktop computer.

If you would like to customize your Linux for your specific embdedded product, I see few different solutions:

1 - start from a standard distribution and customize by yourself (you need to be quite expert in Linux)

2 - start from the small distribution you have in the STPC Development Kit, provided with the loader (you need to be expert, except if the provided distribution is already close to what you want)

3 - use an embedded Linux distribution like Lineo or Tuxia, but it is not for free

4 - sub-contract the customization work to a design house

The fourth solution is, I think, the most convenient if you don't have the expertize in-house. There is a lot of small Linux compagnies in Germany, for example.

Thierry