Associate II
Posted on December 26, 2008 at 23:44

Need some help creating an IAP app

#iap #bootloader #upsd3253
108 REPLIES 108
jmullaney
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 12:04

I cannot quite grasp the IAP fucntionality yet. I'm a newbie working with the DK3200. I am familiar with the general mapping of an IAP program as follows:

Boot to secondary flash which contains the IAP program. The IAP program can perform various validity checks on primary flash sectors to determine good/bad status of main program. The IAP can then modify the VM and page register and ''jump'' to the page of the main program.

Can someone please give some specifics on the VM and page register modifications. :-[

jdaniel
Associate II

IAP can be tricky. Before I even get started, do you plan to use this with an ICE (in-circuit emulator). Neither the one made by Nohau or by Manley support the most efficient means of performing IAP since it involves ''swapping out'' the entire code space. Let me know that and I'll be able to answer your question more effectively.

jmullaney
Associate II

No emulators. simply using the DK3200.

jdaniel
Associate II

Alright... here's the way to do it that I found most accomodating:

1. Create a memory map that has one page with secondary flash mapped in the lower 32kB of code memory and main flash mapped into the upper 32kB (or whatever) of data memory (with your RAM and the like in the lower 32kB of data memory). This map should have another page with main flash mapped into the lower 32kB of code memory and secondary flash not mapped anywhere.

2. Create a project for some compiler (I use Keil) to contain your IAP routines. Make sure to copy and include the STARTUP.A51 code from Keil if that's what you're using. In this project, write the various routines for programming the main flash, etc.

3. Create another project to contain your main application. Find an open block of fixed code memory and define some constants there that are all FF's, like so: