dlclark
Associate II
Posted on April 21, 2005 at 14:00

STPC Atlas w/ TFT LCD QVGA panel

9 REPLIES 9
dlclark
Associate II
Posted on April 11, 2005 at 22:24

I hope somebody here can give me a nudge in the right direction. I am new to this level of details in regards to displays and video BIOS's. Here is the scenario: We are upgrading the PC104 processor card on an existing product because the old one from Ampro has been obsolete-ed. The new one we are upgrading to is the Ampro CM420 based with the STPC Atlas processor. Our design uses a Sharp LQ038Q5DR01 Color TFT LCD Display. It is a Quarter VGA 320x240 3.8'' display. Ampro says that they do not currently have a BIOS that supports native QVGA (6MHz) displays and that we need to either tweak the video registers or use a QVGA display that is compatible with the VGA clock (25MHz). The application is running in DOS and uses the Fastgraph library to create the GUI. We would like to use the original Sharp display so the path I’m taking is to “tweak the video registers.�

So far, I have successfully changed the dot clock frequency to 6,2 MHz using the source code from the dclk utility. However when I make calls to the Fastgraph library it changes back to the original ~28MHz. Once I leave my application, the clock returns to 6.2 MHz. I have also played with some of the other utilities such as tfton to no avail. I see nothing on the display.

Here are my questions:

1) In addition to the dot clock, do I need to tweak the other TFT or VGA registers? I'm assuming that it will take more than simply getting the dot clock to run at 6 MHz, correct?

2) Since Fastgraph seems to override the dot clock settings and is most likely doing this by calling the video BIOS, I assume I need to override the BIOS with something that supports my display. Is this correct?