Associate II
Posted on September 07, 2005 at 12:31

Detection of wrong direction run

8 REPLIES 8
luter
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 10:18

Hi, All.

I am new in this field and have a problem: how to realize whether motor run in wroght direction or not? (Position sensor mode). One of the problems is that z-int can not be generated in direct access mode(as far as i understood). Am i right? It causes a lot of problems.

My idea is that:

During start phase mc is in direct access mode. I read hall sensors to detect current rotor position. write corresponding phase configuration in mphst. it causes com interrupt to fill preload registers(but now we don't need it).Motor starts. i read continuously hall sensor until on of them changes state. if next hall sensors signals match required => motor runs in right direction :D , i switch off direct access mode and run normal loop. if hall sensor signals don't match next expecting set=> motor runs in wrong direction :-[ .

I didn't try it yet.

This method is for start phase only. But i have no idea about controlling direction of rotation while motor runs in normal loop.

I would be very happy if someone shares his/her more experienced ideas about start phase and normal run.

Tnx.

gaetano
Associate II

Hi,

please, might you specify how many sensors are you using?

Regards,

Tanio

luter
Associate II

Ye, it is clear. but as i mentioned before the problem is that: to read hall sensors i need direct access mode. because only this mode allows direct reading of sensors, but it blocks z interrupt. that is why switching on and off direct mode during normal run can cause numerous problems. how to overcome it?

Regards, luter

luter
Associate II

3 sensors, 120 degrees

gaetano
Associate II

With 3 sensors you know exactly which has to be the right pattern configuration to provide at the MCU outputs for starting in the right direction.