lgiordano2
Associate II
Posted on November 09, 2006 at 08:11

Heap and Stack

6 REPLIES 6
lgiordano2
Associate II
Posted on November 08, 2006 at 12:17

Hi, I am using CrossStudio. Microcontrollers are STR710 and STR711.

I am not an expert at C programming, but I have some idea.

Where are variables placed? heap or stack? (I mean those variables which are not explicity placed on a section)

I have been debugging, and I see some are placed in heap, while some others in stack. I am referring to 'auto' variables, those declared inside a function, and are not 'static'.

This is my real problem:

Sometimes (not very often) my app hangs up. I found out that my stack and heap size are 1024 bytes each. However, in some situation, my app declares some buffers and variables which are bigger than 1024 bytes.

By debugging, I saw those variables were in heap section, which is next to stack section. So, although variables are overlapping over stack section, and as stack is a 'stack' (it 'fills' in reverse order) while heap fills in 'normal' order, overlapping is in a free zone of stack. However I think that in some situation, that stack zone is used and if it gets overlapped app may crash. I am right?

When this happened, I increased stack size to 4096 (when I did it, I didnt know what heap exactly is). So, it started to work fine. I think that it indirectly increased the heap section, because as stack was bigger, the useful stack was more separated from heap.

That is why I need to understand where are automatic variables placed.

By the way, I think i have 2 solutions:

1) Optimize code, so not too much variables are declared.

2) Increase heap (or stack) section.

I think I will do both.

I am waiting for comments.

Regards,

sjo
Associate II
Posted on November 08, 2006 at 13:35

With a heap, you access what you are storing in any order you want and they stay there until you remove them, eg. malloc, free