Associate II
Posted on December 19, 2006 at 10:15

st7fmc and cosmic compiler

17 REPLIES 17
noscreen1
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 10:13

Hello everybody,

I'm a student working on a project concerning motor control using the st7fmc developement kit and the cosmic compiler.

In fact i got a problem to understand what the compiler answers when it finds errors in files (.o files) that i've never opened...

Could somebody try to help me to understand what is the cause so that i can try to fix that issue.

thx y'all 🙂

gaetano
Associate II

Hi,

please, could you specify more details on your HW & SW workbench and be more precise in describing at which step you are getting troubles.

Best regards,

Tanio

noscreen1
Associate II

In fact i got a project made of 15 files.I'm using the Cosmic compiler. Every .c file can be compiled without any problem. But i'm facing some difficulties with linking those files 'cause the compiler returns some mistakes which apparently are located in some .o files (those .o files have the same names as the .c files to which they are related with).

For example, i got an error said to be due to the fact that a ''_STX_TX_TIMER'' symbol is not defined. I' want to say obviously i haven't defined this symbol but the ''STX_TX_TIMER'' symbol, that is to say, without the underscore ''_'' character.I got 22 erors like that one, all located in .o files.

So in fact, i don't really understand how it is possible, i can't really understand how the symbols are processed in the compiler/linker to have such errors detected.

Thx.

gaetano
Associate II

Dear user,

ST provide two kits for motor control based on ST7MC micro, both of them including C coded libraries dedicated to motor control.

I would like to support you, but, firstly, I need to know what tool kit you are using and drive onto correct path to succed with creation of an executable code.

Regards,

Tanio

gaetano
Associate II

Hi noscreen,