Associate II
Posted on April 20, 2007 at 13:13

SW UART on FLITE2 - AN1753, Output Compare and TRANCR

5 REPLIES 5
jkn_stforum
Associate II
Posted on December 21, 2006 at 17:04

Hello all

I've been trying to get the SW UART code detailed in AN1753 running on an ST7FLITE29. I've been having some problems and since I'm relatively new to the ST7 family thought I'd ask here.

At first I thought there would be no trouble using the code in the AN, which is designed for the ST7FLITE0. However there seem to be some subtle difference between the implementation of the autoreload timer.

On the FLITE0 the loading of the DCR into the shadow register depends on the state of the OE0 flag. On the FLITE2 this seems to use the TRANCR flag instead. So I ended up adding a

ld a, #01

ld TRANCR, a

every time I store into the DCRH & DCRL registers. Does this make sense in Output Compare mode?

Without this I wasn't getting any output at all on the FLITE29. The code in the application note clears the OE bit of the PWMCR each time before it re-enables the OUTPUT COMPARE interrupt Enable. Surely this is only necessary once, when the SW Uart is initialised?

I have some other questions but this will do to begin with. Has anyone else ported this Application note to the FLITE2, or can help me with the fine details of this?

Thanks

Jon N

brian4
Associate II
Posted on April 17, 2007 at 08:30

Do you want to TX or RX on a pin?

pjr
Associate II
Posted on April 19, 2007 at 13:11

Jonn,

Some ramblimg thoughts/alternate methods...

All this comes from thinking about your postings ( this one and previous )and reading the f29 datasheet. I have only worked with the 2264 and not the flite series...

For RX of data:

At program init load the ATR with a large value ( 4091 ). This will be loaded into the CNTR every CNTR overflow which in this case will happen every 5 CNTR clocks. Keep the number close to the ATR maximum to reduce timing offset error.