ivan239955_stm1_st
Associate II
Posted on February 04, 2008 at 12:35

build STM32 evaluation board for less than $20

15 REPLIES 15
ivan239955_stm1_st
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 12:21

I found convenient way how to build simple STM32 evaluation board.

I've used Schmartboard EZ prototyping board (mouser.com, $9.99) for 32 to 100 pin 0.5mm pitch TQFP. Soldering was easier than I thought - all you need is to do is heat presoldered grooves on board - it took me less than 15 minutes to solder 100 pin STM32 though I've never done SMT soldering before. I've added 8 power capacitors as recomended by ST (SMT or with leads), 3.3V regulator, 8 pin JTAG connector (20 pins standart is too big for this 5x5 cm board, I have 20 pin to 8 pin JTAG reduction), Boot 0,1 jumpers and USART1 connector. Crystal is optional, hovewer it fits nicely together with its caps. There was even room for few LEDs.

I was little worried about JTAG signal integrity, but it works without problems with parallel port Wiggler compatible JTAG at the maximum speed (400 kHz clock).

No problems with UART flash bootloader either - so JTAG is optional as well, if you are willing to debug with printf to serial line 🙂

I'm using eval version of Crossworks, works without problems(debug, flash programming). I've tried build in HW library examples, works well with one change - I had to increase timeout for HSE crystal oscillator start up time (it is crystal dependant).

I'm planing to use this board in small robot, so I've added four 2x13 pin headers to have more convenient acces to all 80 IO pins.

lspr35
Associate II

Hello Ivan,

can You post a photo of Your ''selfmade'' evaluation board? It might be interesting to see how it looks like.

Best regards

Squonk

ivan239955_stm1_st
Associate II

These are pictures of two boards:

board1 is with four headers. I have just unfinished board picture- unfortunately I've send 9V directly to chip so I've burned it and the board is away for chip removal.