Associate II
Posted on July 07, 2009 at 23:40

Question about LIS3LV02DL

7 REPLIES 7
sarling
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 13:16

Hi,

this is off-topic but I don't where to post, so I give it a try here. I have an evaluation kit for the accelerometer LIS3LV02DL connected to an STM32. I'm pretty new to accelerometers and I have noticed that there's slight difference in gain (and perhaps offset) on each axis, which produces erroneous results. x-axis reads 16240 when perpendicular to gravity, y-axis 16480, z-axis 16033. Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to compensate and/or calibrate for these errors? Is it something wrong with the device or is it common with some deviation? I understand that you could multiply each axis value with a constant and add a constant to make all axis the same, but I want to know how You do this. Also a bit confusing when the datasheet says it's factory trimmed and no further calibration is usually needed.

Kind regards,

Sarling

jj
Associate II

Have not used your specific device - have success with other accels.

Questions:

a) Readings when ''perpendicular to gravity.''

Have you a calibrated (usually optic-type) x-y-z table? If not - how do you determine that you are perpendicular. How physically stable is your set-up? And how does the output vary over time (5, 10, 30 secs?)

b) Several of ST's mems accels. use their ''thelma'' process - which provides basic physical ''likeness'' in the X & Y planes. The Z plane is impemented somewhat differently - thus I would expect there to me greater difference between the X-Z, Y-Z, than X-Y outputs.

c) Understand you have an eval board - we are always more comfortable/confident when we can compare multiple devices - highlights misunderstandings or device ''irregularities'' quickly.