russ
Associate II
Posted on June 23, 2008 at 01:30

USB Microcontroller (Cortex) to Microcontroller (Cortex) Communication

9 REPLIES 9
russ
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 12:37

I am very new to the implementation of USB. I am developing a user interface for an industrial controller which uses a STM32F103 microcontroller. I want the user interface to have the same microcontroller and I want to use USB to directly connect them so that the user interface can easily communicate with the industrial controller. Communication needs to be bi-directional and I want to use DFU to allow firmware updates on both devices. Is this possible?

Also, how much space does the USB code provided by ST Micro take up in Flash (optimized).

Thank you in advance.

liqing
Associate II

Do you want to communicate bi-directionally in the user interface and the industrial controller by USB integrated in STM32F103? It think it is impossible. USB must have a host or OTG, but STM32F103 just a device without OTG, so they can't communicate each other if use STM32F103 in these two subsystems.

lanchon
Associate II

no it's not. usb in the stm32 is device-only (not host) and it doesn't support usb otg (on-the-go). anyway, if it were possible, it'd have a fair chance of winning a Guinness award for most unnecessarily complex design ever.

sjo
Associate II

OTG may not be as impossible as you may think - on future silicon anyway.

Cheers

sjo

[ This message was edited by: sjo on 12-06-2008 12:25 ]

russ
Associate II

Quote:

On 12-06-2008 at 08:59, Anonymous wrote:

no it's not. usb in the stm32 is device-only (not host) and it doesn't support usb otg (on-the-go). anyway, if it were possible, it'd have a fair chance of winning a Guinness award for most unnecessarily complex design ever.