russ
Associate II
Posted on August 10, 2009 at 13:58

Wireless hopes and dreams

21 REPLIES 21
russ
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 12:45

I am working on adding wireless functionality to my system. My goal is to find a single-chip rs232 to wireless device to essentially replace my rs232 cable. I know there are bluetooth-rs232 converters out there but they are in the $50 range (a bit expensive for a mass-produced solution).

It looks like most of the chips out there are SPI controlled, but what I am hoping for will use USART or rs232 signal for control and data transmission. Does anyone here have experience with wireless connectivity and transmission of serial datastreams? There is a lot of stuff out there to sort through (and believe me, I am). I am a pretty young engineer and was hoping some of you guys with more experience could point me in the right direction.

Thank you.

[ This message was edited by: russ1 on 23-09-2008 18:55 ]

miles
Associate II

I've never used any of the ''RF Link''s on this page (scroll down), but they might work for what you want, and they are cheap:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/categories.php?c=79

russ
Associate II

It's funny that you mention Sparkfun. I was just checking out their selection of RF components. There is still a lot of choices. Right now I am leaning towards the Zigbee specification.

If you include Zigbee in your product do you have to pay the Zigbee Alliance Member fee? (~$3000 for the lowest level)

16-32micros
Associate III

Hi ,

You can have a look at these modules from ST-NXP Wireless (now ST-Ericsson) working with Fast RS232 up to 4MHz :

http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/bd/14347/stlc2500d.pdf

http://www.st.com/stonline/products/families/communication/wscomm/bluetooth/bluetoothprod.htm

Cheers,

STone-32

jj
Associate II

Hi - my firm has used Zigbee - in our opinion it added unneeded cost & complexity.