Associate
Posted on March 09, 2009 at 12:28

Running/Calling code in Ram from Flash

7 REPLIES 7
wragle
Associate
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 13:05

Folks,

I am learning the STM32 processor family. I am using CodeSourcery G++ Lite, downloading the code to an STM3210E-EVAL board. Everything has been progressing nicely until I tried to locate some code in RAM and reference the code from a C program running in flash. At that point the linker gave the error message:

''relocation truncated to fit: R_ARM_THM_CALL against symbol `APP_FLASH_IRQHandler' defined in .iramcode section in flash.o''.

I understand that I am attempting to make a ''far'' call.

I am new to the ARM and CORTEX and so must ask:

How do I tell the compiler/linker to generate code to access a function which is far away in the memory space?

Thanks For Your Time,

Wes Ragle

picguy
Associate II

A bit of assembly code would do it. Your assembly stub in flash could load r3 then bx r3. (R3 assumes you have less than 4 args.) Call the assembly code.

Or your compiler may have a switch for this kind of call. It would have to be a VERY smart linker to do this w/o compiler help. Specify your tool chain and others may chime in.

domen2
Associate III

or just:

void (func*)() = 0x20000000; /* maybe it's *func, i always mix this up, but since only one compiles, just try */

func();

Dunno about the real way, with linker.

jacob23
Associate

I know this is an old post, but I spent most of my day developing a ''bootloader'' for an STM32-based project, so for the sake of others following after here is what I found. I am using RAISONANCE RIDE7 with gcc.

1) To locate a function in RAM I used the section attribute when declaring it. My linker script already had a section called ''.RAMtext'' that the startup-code would copy from FLASH into RAM before calling main.

void __attribute__ ((section (''.RAMtext''))) myfunction(void)

{

}