Posted on November 12, 2009 at 11:43

Trouble with Hitop and stdperiph_lib

6 REPLIES 6
jakobim
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 13:25

Hello everybody,

First off:

Sorry to bother you people but I am totally new to ARM and Hitop world and desperately in search of help!

The situation:

I am supposed to develop a system with the new stm32 microcontroller series. I use Hitop 5.3-CTX for CortexM3 as IDE, which right now I am using to “simulate�, the evaluation board STM3210B-EVAL has already been ordered and should be on its way here…

(the microcontroller I will use is the stm32f103vbt6)

What I managed so far:

I got myself a general understanding of the Hitop IDE and looked at various code examples to get a grip on how to write my program.

I also downloaded the “Standard Peripherals Library v3.1.2� and copied the “CMSIS\Core\CM3� files to my project and even got a little test program to run. But the trouble starts here:

I want to use the standard library functions, mainly the GPIO ones, like GPIO_StructureInit(). So I tried to copy all the .h and .c files from the current library to my project and also tried to include them in various ways, but I always get compiler error like “undefined reference …� as soon as I want to access the functions defined in the .c files, though I can use the “defines� in the .h files like GPIOA->ODR without any errors.

What I need:

I asking very kindly if somebody could tell me how I exactly have to include the “Standard Peripherals Library v3.1.2´´ in my project with some directories(?) in Hitop so I don’t have to copy and include the files one by one in my project. I also read something about the makefile (main.ld??) in which you have to edit something to make it work properly? Or do I have to change the “Project Settings� in Hitop, and if yes, in which way?

I also don’t understand which files I have to “#include “…� � in the program code so that I can access the functions defined in .c library files.