Associate II
Posted on January 08, 2010 at 12:07

Getting started with STM32F103RET6 programming

15 REPLIES 15
tkjmail
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 13:36

Hi everyone.

I'm new in the STM32 world, though I've made alot of projects with both PIC's and AVR's.

So I've bought the STM32F103RET6 stamp from Futurlec.com, but I really don't know where to start!

I know the programming language is C, but I don't know which IDE to use!

I've heard about Ride7? Then I've also heard about IAR EWARM?

But I don't know how to use any of them... I can't set up a project, as I don't know what to include and what to write

I really hope you can get me started!

Best Regards

Thomas Jespersen

armmcu
Associate II

Hi tkjmail,

I guess the main difference that you should bear in mind:

Ride7 is including: A GNU C/C++ Compiler for STM32(Free with no code size limitation).

However it's not the case with IAR IDE it's free only for 32K limited code size.

Concerning the second point,using the STM32F10x_StdPeriph_Lib avaible on ST web you will find a template project/examples , that can be run under these environment : IAR, RIDE,Keil).

Cheers.

tkjmail
Associate II

Ohh yeah, I see - thanks.

Then I will have to learn the Ride7 environment 🙂

But also about the code? Are the code the same between the different IDE's?

Do you have a coding tutorial, to learn the basics as setting ouput pins, Reading pins, analog in, PWM, DAC and such?

ccowdery9
Associate III

You would be advised to buy a board that comes with an IDE. Most IDEs come with a demo board. That way, you get tutorials, examples, debuggers and known hardware.

Chris.

tkjmail
Associate II

Yeah, but I haven't done :(

I've bought this cheap STM32 stamp from Futurlec.com -

http://www.futurlec.com/ET-STM32_Stamp.shtml

jj
Associate II

Possibly this adage applies, ''He who does not study history is condemned to repeat/commit mistakes.''